Fed Watching

Ed Yardeni

Appendix 2

Chairs of the Fed's Board of Governors, 1936–Present¹

Fed Chair	Term of Office		Appointed by
	Start Date	End Date	President
Jerome Powell	February 5, 2018	Incumbent	Donald Trump (2017-Present)
Janet Yellen	February 3, 2014	February 3, 2018	Barack Obama (2009-2017)
Ben Bernanke	February 1, 2006	January 31, 2014	George W. Bush (2001-2009)
Alan Greenspan	August 11, 1987	January 31, 2006	Ronald Reagan (1981-1989)
Paul A. Volcker	August 6, 1979	August 11, 1987	Jimmy Carter (1977-1981)
G. William Miller	March 8, 1978	August 6, 1979	
Arthur F. Burns	February 1, 1970	January 31, 1978	Richard Nixon (1969-1974)
William M. Martin	April 2, 1951	January 31, 1970	Harry S. Truman (1945-1953)
Thomas B. McCabe	April 15, 1948	March 31, 1951	
Marriner S. Eccles	February 1, 1936	January 31, 1948	Franklin D. Roosevelt (1933-1945)

¹ The Banking Act of 1935, approved August 23, 1935, changed the name of the Federal Reserve Board to the" Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System" and created the positions of chairman and vice chairman. Previously, the secretary of the Treasury served as chairman. Source: Federal Reserve Board.